My Hobbies

Coin collection is my primary hobby. Initially I started collecting all the coins and soon realized that without any focus/theme even spending large amount of money we will not able to complete our collection. There is no limit for collection. Soon I learnt that we need to have some theme which gives proper direction and enjoyment while collecting and also knowledge about the coins as we observe the coins and try to understand in the perspective of history, nation, currency etc. One can have themes like collecting environmental friendly, Zoo, Transport etc. There is lot of information on the Internet and even we can buy coins on the net. I started collecting coins since 1996 when I found few old one rupee coins. This is how I started collecting Indian coins. I have almost complete set of Indian Republic Coins and also few of Nizam Dynasty. My colleague gave me some coins from Europe when he was back from his trip. This has triggered to collect foreign country coins. As of now I have a collection of about 40 countries..Now my focus is to collect from all the Asian countries.
British India Coinage                                           

    * William IV
    * Queen Victoria (Young Bust)
    * Queen Victoria (Mature Bust)
    * Queen Victoria (Empress)
    * Edward VII
    * George V
    * George VI

I have most of the coins in my collection except William IV Half Rupee and Victorial gold coin.

Republic India Coinage

The Frozen Series 1947-1950
One Rupee consisting of 192 pies. 1 Rupee = 16 Annas 1 Anna = 4 Pice 1 Pice = 3 Pies

The Anna Series
Introduced on 15th August, 1950 and represented the first coinage of Republic India. The King's Portrait was replaced by the Lion Capital of the Ashoka Pillar. A corn sheaf replaced the Tiger on the one Rupee coin.

The Decimal Series
The Act came into force with effect from 1st April, 1957. The rupee remained unchanged in value and nomenclature. It, however, was now divided into 100 'Paisa' instead of 16 Annas or 64 Pice

Naya Paisa Series
1957-1964New decimal Paisa was termed 'Naya Paisa' till 1st June, 1964 when the term 'Naya' was dropped.

Aluminium Series
1964 onwardsIntroduction of the new hexagonal 3 paise coin. A twenty paise coin was introduced in 1968 but did not gain much popularity.

Contemporary Coins
Discontinuance of 1, 2 and 3 paise coins in the seventies; Stainless steel coinage of 10, 25 and 50 paise, was introduced in 1988 and of one rupee in 1992.


Early English settlements in India had three broad grouping: those in Western India (Bombay & Surat), those in South India (Madras) and those in the Eastern Province of Bengal (Calcutta). By the early 1830, the English had become the dominant power in India. The Coinage Act of 1835 and for uniform coinage to be issued. Newly designed coins with the effigy of William IV on the obverse and the value on the reverse in English and Persian, were issued in 1835. India attained freedom on 15th August 1947. However the existing coinage was continued as the frozen series till January 26th 1950 when India became Republic.

Few coins from British India Coinage


India won its independence on 15th August, 1947. During the period of transition India retained the monetary system and the currency and coinage of the earlier period. While Pakistan introduced a new series of coins in 1948 and notes in 1949, India brought out its distinctive coins on 15th August, 1950. There are four mints in India namely Kolkata, Mumbai, Noida and Hyderabad. Mint mark on the reverse of the coin identifies wher the coin got struck. Mint marks for Kolkata, Mumbai, Noida and Hyderabad are "blank", "diamond", "dot" and "star" repectively.

Few coins from Republic India Coinage